Queensbury Community Scholarship Association

Our mission is to assist and encourage Queensbury High School students to pursue higher education and build a stronger community and school partnership.

History of QCSA

The Queensbury Community Scholarship Association has its origins in the Citizens Scholarship Foundation of America (CSFA), whose mission it was to expand access to higher education by increasing the amount of student aid from the private sector. CSFA promoted this concept through the development of regional chapters of Dollars for Scholars.  In 1989, Ken Minges presented the idea to Dr. Jack V. Irion, Queensbury Superintendent of Schools, and the members of the Board of Education. June 26, 1990 marked the beginning of Queensbury Dollars for Scholars. The charter was signed on July 7, 1990, with the founding members:  Kendall Minges, Peter Donnelly, Karen Hajeck, Kevin Sullivan, William Landsiedel, Daniel Gorney, Walter McDowell, Raymond Gordon, Dorothea McMillan and Priscilla Joy. Attorney Paul Dusek would be elected the first President, James Capopoano, Vice President, Mary E. Sperry, Secretary, Gerard Bilodeau, Treasurer, Ken Minges, Awards Committee Chair, Sylvia Kerchner, Fundraising Chair, Michael Melucci, Public Relations Chair, and Christopher Gauthier, Nominations Committee Chair. Additionally, trustees included Peter Kudan, Father Gary Mercure, Paul Curtis, David Norris, Stephen Borgos, Jerry Dolly, Ray Gordon, Edward Allard, Dan Gorney and Mark Behan. Ultimately, CSFA came to be known as Scholarship America and, due to increased demands made by them, Queensbury Dollars for Scholars voted to become an independent organization, which was renamed officially the Queensbury Community Scholarship Association on Aug 12, 2014.


From our earliest days, QCSA has engaged in many creative fundraising efforts.  While our annual Phone-a-thon, held each fall since 1991, has been the primary source of funding, numerous other events have supplemented our resources. The PTSA organizations in the elementary, middle school and high school were integral to early fundraising efforts. Grants were received by The Miles Hodsdon Vernon Foundation and The Jacob and Eugenie Bucky Memorial Foundation, initiated by Dennis M. Fitzgerald, a resident of Queensbury. Board members arranged boat cruises on Lake George, hosted numerous local golf tournaments, held a year long penny drive in the elementary school, and created an annual middle school dance marathon, inspired by John Potter. In more recent years, we have collected scholarship funds by hosting benefit nights at Coopers Cave Ale Company, The Tavern and Queen of Harts, which included many raffle items donated to us by our local business community.


QCSA’s first Memorial scholarship was introduced in 1994 with the establishment of the Kim Chase Memorial Fund by her parents, Betty and Dan Sprague. Since that time, we have become the stewards of 31 memorial scholarships as well as 6 honorary scholarships.  In addition to memorials, supporters of QCSA have included local individuals, families and organizations who wish to sponsor scholarships for students with specific interests. Those seeking to establish a fund are offered the opportunity to create criteria to be considered in selecting a candidate for the award. On how to set up a named scholarship, learn more here.


QCSA will celebrate 30 years of scholarship assistance this fall with the kick off of our Annual Phone-a-thon. To date, a grand total of $686,082.00 has been awarded to Queensbury graduates who continue their education at both traditional and technical institutions. This success would not have been possible without the many dedicated volunteers who have served as officers and trustees of QCSA since its inception, as well as the support of residents and businesses in our community. We also could not have accomplished our goals without the dedicated support of the faculty, staff and administration of the Queensbury Union Free School District and the Queensbury Board of Education.


We can look forward to growth in the coming decades with the positive energy and optimism of our current officers and trustees.

Board of Trustees


Wendy Schiavi, President
Deborah O’Neill, Vice President
Kimberly Milza, Treasurer
Kirsten Jordi, Recording Secretary
Kitty Sconzo, Correspondence Secretary 
Committee Chairs and Leaders
Colleen Cowper, Awards Chairperson
Pamela Boller, Phone-a-thon Co-Chairperson
Liz Mulshine, Phone-a-thon Co-Chairperson
Kendall Minges
Kevin Sullivan
Peter Kudan
Lynne Silverberg
Don Ostrom
Stephanie Londrigan
Leslie D’Angelico
Kylie Webb
Denise Lamouree